Don’t Wait for Things to be Just Right

I was at a Leadership Corpus Christi application (talk to me if you are interested in applying) function two weeks ago and was introduced as a personal trainer to one of the applicants.  She immediately told me she that she needed to start doing more “fasted cardio”. 

My first thought was, “why is she telling me this”? 

When introduced to a financial advisor I don’t immediately tell them I need to deposit more money into my Roth IRA, but she and many other people I meet feel the need to immediately tell me these things when they find out what I do for a living. 

My second thought was, “why was she waiting to fast before doing cardio”? I know some of the research about fasted cardio but I was more interested in WHY she wasn’t just getting the cardio done, fasted or not. (This is how my crazy mind works!) 

Why not get the cardio done, regardless of how much she ate or didn’t eat?

Why do we need to wait for things to be “just so” before we start or continue with what we have set out to do?

When we wait for things to be “just right” we usually wait too long and miss the opportunity and we suffer. Sometimes we suffer mentally (anxiety and frustration) and other times we suffer physically (health and quality of life).

Getting started doesn’t need to be a huge leap into the unknown. Getting started can look like:

  • Research
  • A Phone call
  • A Walk
  • Showing up to Your Next Scheduled Training Session
  • Throwing Out the Junk Food in Your Pantry and Refrigerator
  • Pouring the Sodas down the Drain or into the Garbage Can Outside.
  • Packing Your Lunch
  • Prepping a Meal or Two for the Week
  • Scheduling and Sitting down for a Success Session/Assessment
  • Waking up Early
  • Going to Bed on Time
  • Writing out Goals

Don’t wait for things to be perfect before you begin.  Otherwise you may never start!

Committed to Your Success,

Adam

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

